Opening of new rural clinical school headquarters in Kalgoorlie

Document Type

Media Release

Publication Date

Winter 3-8-2007

Publisher Name

The University of Notre Dame Australia, Fremantle

Publication Place



The new headquarters building of the Rural Clinical School of Western Australia was opened by the Prime Minister, Mr John Howard at the end of July. In his opening address Mr Howard saluted the young medical students and doctors who had found a passion to work in remote areas of Australia.

“They are committing themselves to a life that forsakes some of the comfortable constants of medical practice in the more heavily populated areas,” he observed. “In doing so they are representing the finer aspects of their profession in a very impressive way.”

WA’s Rural Clinical School is a joint venture between The University of Notre Dame Australia (UNDA) and The University of Western Australia (UWA).

Students from third year UNDA, and fifth year UWA, are studying at ten sites throughout the State. The Prime Minister remarked on this after discussing their experience by videoconference with students in Albany and Broome. There are now 62 students based in Kalgoorlie, Esperance, Albany, Narrogin, Bunbury, Geraldton, Karratha, Port Hedland, Broome and Derby.

UWA’s Vice-Chancellor, Professor Alan Robson said, “We have long recognised that supporting future and current country practitioners in study and professional development is crucial to the maintenance of a vibrant, sustainable rural medical workforce.”

Tribute was paid to the Prime Minister and the Federal Government for its financial contribution to the new building, co-located with the Goldfields Esperance General Practice Network and the support of the State Government, which provided the land for the new building.

“The partnership between UWA and Notre Dame symbolises the high value both institutions place on rural education for professionals, particularly in the area of medicine,” Professor Robson said.

The occasion was also attended by the Deans of the two Medical Schools, Professor Adrian Bower and Professor Ian Puddey.