Notre Dame Awards Achievements in Law

Document Type

Media Release

Publication Date

Spring 8-9-2006

Publisher Name

The University of Notre Dame, Fremantle Campus

Publication Place



The University of Notre Dame Australia’s, Fremantle Campus Law School recently held their annual awards night.

Awards were sponsored by prominent law firms and given for outstanding achievements by students.

One student recipient, Tom French, received an award for both Best Second Year Student (Freehills Prize) and also theGeraldine Byrne Prize, which is given to a student who has made a significant contribution to life in the Law School.

Tom commenced his Law degree in 2004 and undertook the Edmund Rice Centre immersion in East Timor - an elective which allows students to live in a different country to experience its lifestyle and culture.

Many other awards were handed out during the evening, including prizes for Administrative Law, Criminal Law, International Law and the Best Student in each year.

The Notre Dame Law School was dedicated to St Thomas More, Patron Saint of Lawyers, in 1997. The awards are held in his memory to remind students of his integrity and honour.

Other prizes awarded on the night were:

Butterworths Prize in Legal Research & Writing

Received by Brooke Hobson

Butterworths Prize in Administrative Law

Received by Emma Keely

Buttersworths Prize in Corporations & Partnerships

Received by Christopher Bailey

Law Society Prize in Legal Process

Received by Michael Power

Leo Wood Prize in Criminal Law

Received by Surina Maharaj

Lawbook Co Prize in Contract

Received by Alyce Cassettai

Lawbook Co Prize in Torts

Received by Rachel Beresford-Ord

Lawbook Co Prize in Property Law

Received by Elizabeth Costa

Coop Bookshop Prize in Equity and Trusts

Received by Angela Stravianou

Russell-Roberts Prize in International Law

Received by Kenneth Gitahi

AMPLA Prize in Natural Resources Law

Received by Gemma Bently

Minter Ellison Prize in Intellectual Property Law

Courtney Draper

Malleson, Stephens Jaques Prize for the Best Third Year Student

Received by Daniel Taborsky

Jackson McDonald Prize the Best Fourth year Student

Received by Ian McLeod

Deacons Prize for the Best Juris Doctor Students

Received by Linda Murdoch

CCH Prize in Trade Practices

Received by Claire Rowe

Scribblers Publishing Prize in Legal History

Received by Michael Power

James Mazza Prize in Evidence

Received by Emma Keely

CCH Prize in Civil Procedure

Received by Carita Kazakoff

CCH Prize in Family Law

Received by Christopher Rosario

Brett Davies Lawyers Prize in Taxation Law

Received by Daniel Taborsky

Marcellin-Nagle Prize for the Best First Year Student

Received by Michael Power

Freehills Prize for the Best Second Year Student

Received by Thomas French

Geraldine Byrne Prize for Service to the School

Received by Thomas French