Academic Council

Document Type

Media Release

Publication Date

Summer 23-2-2006

Publisher Name

The University of Notre Dame, Fremantle Campus

Publication Place



The University of Notre Dame Australia’s Academic Council met for the first time in 2006 in February. The Academic Council exercises legislative functions in matters of educational policy such as the making of general academic policies and regulations, setting the requirements for admissions to and graduation from the University, making decisions on courses that will be offered ensuring that education resources are being used effectively.

The membership of the Academic Council has changed as a result of the major academic restructure of the University that came into effect on 1 January 2006. The academic restructure was designed to accommodate the ongoing development of the University which has a campus in Broome and a new campus in Sydney.

The Provost, Professor Jennifer Nicol, is the Chair of the Council, and the members are the Executive Deans of all the National Colleges of Notre Dame: Arts and Sciences, Professor Simon Adams; Business, Professor George Kailis; Education, Professor Michael O’Neill; Health Sciences, Professor Helen Parker; Law, Professor Michael Gillooly; Medicine, Professor Mark McKenna; Nursing, Professor Margot Kearns; Philosophy and Theology, Associate Professor Peter Black.

The newly appointed Dean of the Broome Campus, Professor Sonia Wagner, will join the Academic Council in July when she takes up her position.

The Academic Council will meet throughout the year on either the Fremantle or Sydney Campuses.