School of Law awards excellence at annual prize giving ceremony

Document Type

Media Release

Publication Date

Fall 20-5-2011

Publisher Name

The University of Notre Dame Australia, Sydney Campus

Publication Place



The University of Notre Dame Australia’s Sydney School of Law recently presented awards to those students who excelled in their studies during the 2010 Academic Year at the School’s third annual prize giving ceremony.

Students, staff, families and friends of the School gathered together in St Benedict’s Church, Broadway for Mass celebrated by University Chaplain Fr John Neill OP and Canon Law lecturer Rt Rev Msgr Robert McGuckin VG EV. At the conclusion of Mass, awards were presented to the School’s highest achievers in each subject area.

The New South Wales Bar Association; The Herro Foundation; publishers LexisNexis (Butterworths), Oxford University Press and Thomson Reuters (Lawbook Co); law firms Carroll & O’Dea, Hicksons, Maurice Blackburn and Middletons; and retired barrister Janet Coombs sponsored the awards.

Dean of the School of Law, Professor Gerard Ryan, congratulated the students for their achievements at the ceremony:

“Notre Dame is not just a law school – it is a community. My fellow staff and I feel a great sense of pride and excitement at seeing members of our community do so well.

“University is about reaching for the stars and achieving a standard you thought beyond you. Success in law cannot come without a lot of hard work. For many of you, tonight’s success is the result of many semesters of hard work. During that time, many of you have faced enormous challenges in your lives. Tonight is a celebration of your determination in never giving up and finding a way through or around those challenges.”

Professor Ryan also congratulated recent graduates and penultimate year students on their success in finding graduate jobs and summer clerkships.

He urged students to go out into the world and use the skills and confidence they have gained at Notre Dame to make a difference in whatever community they become a part of.

Notre Dame Chancellor, Mr Terry Tobin QC, attended the ceremony and presented the award for Most Outstanding Student for 2010 to graduate Emma Hosie. Emma completed her Bachelor of Arts / Bachelor of Laws (First Class Honours) at the end of 2010 and is now working in a research position with the New South Wales Court of Appeal.

Media Contact: Moira Saunders (02) 8204 4407, Mob (+61) 0408 959 138