Outstanding contributions to student learning acknowledged

Document Type

Media Release

Publication Date

Winter 13-7-2011

Publisher Name

The University of Notre Dame, Fremantle Campus

Publication Place



Citations for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning have been awarded to staff from The University of Notre Dame Australia by the Australian Learning and Teaching Council (ALTC).

The ALTC is an independent organisation established by the Federal Government in 2004 to improve the student learning experience by supporting quality teacher practice.

The 2011 citations are awarded to those who have made a significant contribution to the quality of student learning in a specific area of responsibility over a sustained period.

History Lecturer at the Sydney Campus, Associate Professor Peter Dean; Senior Administrative Officer at the School of Education, Fremantle Campus, Ms Claire Donaldson; and Behavioural Science Lecturer, Ms Sharon McCarthy, all received individual citations.

Associate Professor Dean’s citation was for inspiring students through high-level teaching in history and for sustained leadership that supports student centred learning and teaching at a foundational institution.

Ms Donaldson and Ms McCarthy were recognised for enhancing student learning initiatives over a 12-year period and innovation in student focused curriculum development in a large class setting respectively.

Ms Kylie Russell, Ms Janet Cooke, Ms Corinne Kusel, Ms Wendy Mrsa and Ms Ella Patterson from the Fremantle School of Nursing received a team citation from ALTC.

They were bestowed the citation for leadership and innovation in clinical practicum program design for registered nurse students that provides a unique model of reality in practice in the workplace.

Vice Chancellor, Professor Celia Hammond, congratulated the recipients.

“As a University which openly strives for excellence in teaching, we are delighted with these externally judged awards for our staff,” Professor Hammond said.

“On behalf of the University, I congratulate our three successful individual and team nominees for this national recognition of their outstanding achievements.

“All four citations reflect the commitment Notre Dame’s staff have to providing excellent teaching and diverse educational experiences for our students.”

Media Contact: Leigh Dawson (+61) 8 9433 0569, Mob (+61) 0405 441 093