School of Arts and Sciences awards academic excellence

Document Type

Media Release

Publication Date

Fall 30-3-2011

Publisher Name

The University of Notre Dame Australia, Sydney Campus

Publication Place



Over 150 guests attended The University of Notre Dame Australia’s Sydney School of Arts and Sciences 4th Annual Awards Night celebrations at St Benedict’s Hall.

The event showcases the highest level of academic achievers within the School. Over 60 award winners, their supporters and a number of distinguished guests from the School’s Advisory Board proudly celebrated the academic and creative achievements of 2010.

Award recipients were selected from first year and upper level categories and were awarded for holding the highest grade point average within their chosen discipline. Recipients received prizes from a number of leading publishers, bookstores and partner organisations and were also handed certificates of achievement.

The Group Achievement award honoured three internship students, Amy Bartholomew, Samantha Galletta and Emma Hanna, whose outstanding efforts raised greater community awareness into elder abuse. The Alumni Award went to Sunday Telegraph cadet, Rosie Squires, for her early achievements within the field of journalism, including being named News Limited’s Young Journalist of the Year.

A theatrical adaptation of a Gary Catalano poem by theatre students and the screening of a short film by graduating film students gave audience members an inspiring glimpse into the creative life of the School.

During the evening acknowledgement was given to the achievements of Professor Gerry Turcotte, Executive Dean of Arts and Sciences, who has been a key driver in the establishment and growth of the national Arts and Sciences College over the past five years. It was a “bittersweet” night for Professor Turcotte, who is returning home to Canada after a 25-year stay in Australia.

“The Awards Night was a “rich and wonderful reminder that the School is committed to the very highest standards and that those who ultimately benefit from its success are the students,” said Associate Dean Dr Catherine Thill.

Caption; Emma Hanna accepting the Group Achievement Award from Dr John Rees for her group project with fellow students Amy Bartholomew and Samantha Galletta.

Media Contact: Moira Saunders (+61) 2 8204 4407